For Emergencies, call 911

Non-Emergencies: 712-278-2477


The Ireton Volunteer Fire Department provides fire protection services in the town of Ireton and in the surrounding townships - Reading, Washington, Center and Eagle in Sioux County as well as several townships in northern Plymouth County - a total of 102 square miles.


All firefighters in the department have Firefighter I designation. In addition to responding to fires and accidents, the department participates in controlled burns, continuing education classes and conducts tornado awareness drills at local schools. They also take part in severe weather classes.


Although the department receives tax dollars that cover the basic operational costs most of the "extras" are purchased through donations and grants. The department's equipment includes a pumper truck as well as 2200 gallon and 1000 gallon tankers.


The New goal for the fire department is to raise enough funds to purchase a new pumper/Tanker truck. They will be having an auction in October and any items will be accepted for donation to the  auction.


Donations are always welcome and may be mailed to:

Ireton Fire Department

P.O. Box 93

Ireton, Iowa 51027


The Ireton Rescue Squad is composed entirely of volunteers (the only all-volunteer squard remaining in Sioux County). They provide services to the same 102 square mile territory as the fire department.


New volunteers are always needed and welcome. Interested community members should talk to any member of the squad or call the City Administrator's Office.


The rescue squad's goal is to provide emergency care, stabilize the person and transport them to the nearest emergency facility.


Donations are always welcome and may be mailed to:

Ireton Rescue Squad

P.O. Box 93

Ireton, Iowa  51027






Chief:  Richard Steckelberg

1st Asst Chief:BryanVanWyhea

2nd AsstChief:BrianSmitn

Sec/Treas:  Chet ReinkingTrainingOfficer:CraigPetersent





Russ Coons


Sam Muellerr

Derek Kaskie

Shawn Kaskie

Brady Koopmans



Natee Andersong

Jordan Richardson

Dan Schipper

Wayne Schuller

Bruce Smit

Doug TenNapel


Devin Van Der Brink

Josh Van Der BrinkBobVanderPlasa

Stewart Eisma





Rescue Squad


President: Mike Tiedemann

Vice-President: Howard Hulshof

Secretary: Kim Westly

Training: Sandy VanderBrink

Kateee Cave

Maintenance: Denny Hulshof

Jamie Bloemendahl

Kathy Heuer

Mindi Hulshof

Chris Mueller


Izzyy Anderson

Nate Anderson

Nikki Kluve





Delbert Schipper,Jr.

Briann Smit



CITY OF IRETON  |  502 4th Street  |  Ireton, Iowa  51027  |  Phone: 712-278-2112  |  Fax: 712-278-2114  |  E-mail:

IretonIA. com is a community website created and presented by the Ireton Area Historical Society. We invite Ireton residents, former residents and others with an interest in Ireton to submit photos and information. We'd love to hear from you! There are photo slideshows tucked throughout the site. For links to them all, just click on the "Slideshow Index" at the bottom of the page. Please let us know if you find any errors on the site or have trouble displaying any pages If asked, please be sure to click "Allow Blocked Content" so that pages display correctly.