Fire Department and Rescue Squad

For Emergencies, call 911 and for Non-Emergencies: 712-278-2477

The Ireton Volunteer Fire Department provides fire protection services in the town of Ireton and in the surrounding townships – Reading, Washington, Center and Eagle in Sioux County as well as several townships in northern Plymouth County – a total of 102 square miles.

All firefighters in the department have Firefighter I designation. In addition to responding to fires and accidents, the department participates in controlled burns, continuing education classes and conducts tornado awareness drills at local schools. They also take part in severe weather classes.

Although the department receives tax dollars that cover the basic operational costs most of the “extras” are purchased through donations and grants. The department’s equipment includes a pumper truck as well as 2200 gallon and 1000 gallon tankers.

Donations are always welcome and may be mailed to:
Ireton Fire Department
P.O. Box 93
Ireton, Iowa 51027

Chief:  Richard Steckelberg
1st Asst Chief: Brian Smit
2nd Asst. Chief: Craig Peterson
Sec/Treas:  Chris Mueller
Training Officer : Thad Finzen
Asst. Training Officer: Gerad Gradert

Abraham Arreola, Joel Hirschman, Russ Coons, Brian Eisma, Sam Mueller, Shawn Kaskie, Brady Koopmans,  Nate Anderson, Jordan Richardson, Dan Schipper, Wayne Schuller, Bruce Smit, Devin Van Der Brink, Josh Van Der Brink, Wayne Heuer, Bryan Van Wyhe, Jamie Bloomendaal, Pat Johnson,  Stewart Eisma, and Chris Reifenberger.

The Ireton Rescue Squad is composed entirely of volunteers (the only all-volunteer squard remaining in Sioux County). They provide services to the same 102 square mile territory as the fire department. New volunteers are always needed and welcome. Interested community members should talk to any member of the squad or call the City Administrator’s Office. The rescue squad’s goal is to provide emergency care, stabilize the person and transport them to the nearest emergency facility.

Donations are always welcome and may be mailed to:
Ireton Rescue Squad
P.O. Box 93
Ireton, Iowa  51027

President: Howard Hulshof
Vice-President: Chris Mueller
Secretary/Treasurer: Kim Westcott
Training: Terra Petersen, Izzy Anderson
Maintenance: Denny Hulshof

Members: Izzy Anderson, Jamie Bloemendaal, Trisha Finzen, Denny Hulshof, Howard Hulshof, Mindi Hulshof, Chris Mueller, Terra Peterson, Lyndle Shelby, Mike Tiedeman, Sandy Van Der Brink, and Kim Westcott

Delbert Schipper, Jr., Brian Smit, Richard Steckelberg